Biographie

While the Bouglione family criss-crossed the world with its circus shows, Joseph, son of Emilien Bouglione (Maître Ecuyer, circus artist, administrator of Cirque d'Hiver SA) and his mother Christiane Bouglione (circus artist, director of Passion Cirque) regularly followed the family circus on tour during their school holidays.

 

At the age of 12, he was introduced to the various fundamental circus disciplines: juggling, acrobatics, horse riding, and music (piano and trumpet).

He entered the ring for the first time as a crew member, later appearing as an acrobat and presenting a dressage act with trained ponies. He was 16 years old when he created his own tightrope walking act, for which he became well known. He performed the act for the first time the day after his 16th birthday, first on the Bouglione family tours, then around the world, from circuses to touring cabarets, and notably for fifteen years at Circus Roncalli in Germany.

In 1984, he was received by Jack Lang, then Minister of Culture, and was recognised as Best French Circus Artist, receiving the Grand Prix National du Cirque. He participated in the World Circus Festival in Monte Carlo in 1985 and 1996. 

In 1999, he took over Bouglione productions at Cirque d'Hiver in Paris with “Salto”, the first show for which he was artistic director. He took the challenge to demonstrate both his artistic creativity and his ability to manage a large team - not only to the public, but also to his peers.

It paid off! What followed were the Piste, Trapèze, and Le Cirque (celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Cirque d’Hiver) shows. In total, he put on around twenty shows at the Cirque d'Hiver Bouglione. These were followed by more than a hundred shows around the world, in China, India, the United States, the Netherlands, Mexico, Spain, the UK, and beyond.

 

In 2003, he was named a Chevalier of the Ordre National du Mérite, by the president. And in 2019 he received the Circus Ambassador Prize from the World Circus Federation under the patronage of Princess Stéphanie of Monaco.

 Today, with his experience, his hyperactivity, and his thirst for creation and originality, Joseph has undoubtedly become a leading artistic director, responsible for staging, lighting and sound production, music and costume design, composition of the orchestra, and recruitment of artists.

France does award these distinctions

Joseph J Bouglione
Et 
les Salto Dancers

Répétition, spectacle Surprise 2016

Joseph J Bouglione

Directeur artistique du Cirque d'Hiver Bouglione depuis 1999

Interview

Roncalli's Apollo Varieté - Déjà-Vu

Roncalli's Apollo Varieté
Roncalli's Apollo Varieté - Déjà-Vu
Search video...
Roncalli's Apollo Varieté - Déjà-Vu

Roncalli's Apollo Varieté - Déjà-Vu

01:04
Play Video
Cirque - la famille Bouglione

Cirque - la famille Bouglione

03:16
Play Video
MURAT/LIDO/D LARIBLE

MURAT/LIDO/D LARIBLE

01:36
Play Video

Biographie

Alors que la famille Bouglione sillonne le monde de ses tournées avec ses spectacles de cirque, Joseph, fils d’Emilien Bouglione (Maître Ecuyer - Artiste de cirque – Administrateur du Cirque d’Hiver SA) et de sa mère Christiane Bouglione (Artiste de Cirque - Administratrice de Passion Cirque SA) suit régulièrement le cirque familial en tournée pendant ses vacances scolaires.

 

A l’âge de 12 ans, il est initié aux diverses disciplines de base du cirque : jonglerie, acrobatie, équitation et apprend la musique (piano et trompette).

Il entre en piste pour la première fois en tant que garçon de piste puis successivement, il participe à un numéro d’acrobatie et présente un numéro de dressage de poneys. Il a alors 16 ans lorsqu’il entreprend la création de son numéro de Fil de fériste qui le fera connaitre. Il se produit avec ce numéro pour la première fois au lendemain de ses 18 ans, dans les tournées Bouglione d’abord, puis dans le monde entier, de cirques aux cabarets en passant pas les music-halls, notamment quinze années au Cirque Roncalli en Allemagne. 

En 1984, il est reçu par Jack Lang, alors Ministre de la Culture, et est reconnu Meilleur Artiste de Cirque Français recevant le Grand Prix National du Cirque. Par la suite, il fera deux fois en 1985 et 1996, le Festival Mondial du Cirque de Monte-Carlo. 

En 1999, il reprend les productions Bouglione au Cirque d’Hiver de Paris avec « Salto », le premier spectacle dont il assure la direction artistique, il tente le pari de démontrer sa créativité artistique et sa capacité à encadrer une grande équipe non seulement au public, mais aussi à ses pairs.

Pari gagné ! Suivront les spectacles Piste, Trapèze, Le Cirque (qui célébra les 150 ans du Cirque d’Hiver), … au Total, déjà une vingtaine de créations au Cirque d'hiver Bouglione. Suivront plus d’une centaine de créations de spectacles dans le monde entier, en Chine, en Inde, aux Etats-Unis, aux Pays-Bas, au Mexique, en Espagne, au Royaume-Uni, …

En 2003, il est distingué Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite, et reçoit en 2019, le Prix de l’Ambassadeur du Cirque par la Fédération Mondiale du Cirque sous le patronage de SAS la Princesse Stéphanie de Monaco.

 

Aujourd’hui, fort de son expérience, de son hyperactivité, de sa soif de création et d’originalité, Joseph est devenu incontestablement un directeur artistique assurant tant la mise en scène que la régie technique de lumière et de son, le choix des musiques et des costumes, la composition de l’orchestre et le recrutement des artistes.

© 2018 Joseph Bouglione